MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE STANDARDS COMMITTEE HELD AT HYBRID MEETING - ZOOM - COUNTY HALL ON THURSDAY, 17 NOVEMBER 2022

PRESENT: Mr S Hays (Chair)

Independent Members: Mrs C Moore, Mr JGoolden, Mr R Stafford-Tolley and

Mr N Steward

County Councillors: I McIntosh and L Rijnenberg

1. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from County Councillor M Beecham.

2. MINUTES

The Chair was authorised to sign the minutes of the meetings held on 17 February 2022 and 15 July 2022 as correct records.

3. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations were received.

4. REPORT OF THE HEAD OF LEGAL AND DEMOCRATIC SERVICES

The Committee received the report of the Head of Legal and Democratic Services (copy filed with signed minutes).

The Deputy Monitoring Officer advised that Brecknockshire Town and Community Councils representative had already served the relevant term of office and therefore could not be re-appointed. A new nomination process and ballot, if required, would be undertaken.

RESOLVED:

- 1. That the Standards Community Sub-Committee comprise the undermentioned 8 Members:
- (i) All 5 Independent (Lay) Members of the Standards Committee.
- (ii) County Councillor lain McIntosh nominated by the Standards Committee.
- (iii) Community Councillor Richard White (Newtown and Llanllwchaiarn Town Council) – elected by the Town and Community Councils in Montgomeryshire.
- (iv) Town Councillor Nigel Dodman (New Radnor Community Council) –

To constitute the Standards Community Sub-Committee.

elected by the Town and Community Councils in Radnorshire.

- 2. That the terms of office of the 5 Independent (Lay) Members be for the remainder of their terms of office as Independent Members on the main Standards Committee.
- 3. That the terms of office of the County Councillor and Town and Community Councillors be for the maximum term permitted by the existing regulations or by any amending regulations (currently a maximum of five years) or until they cease to be Councillors or resign whichever shall first occur.
- 4. That a postal election is undertaken for the Brecknockshire Town and Community Councils representative due to the nominated member having already served the relevant term of office.

After the meeting the Committee and Community Sub-Committee undertook training on their roles and responsibilities which was provided by the Deputy Monitoring Officer.

Mr S Hays (Chair)